Grandview is also known for having some of the best 1943 curbed pavement in Missouri.The half curb was designed to keep autos on the road but, often as not, would tip them over.Also on the downtown Square is the Rigsby House and, next door, the building that was formerly Rigsby Standard Oil Station.
Descending into the county seat of Waynesville, watch for Frog Rock overlooking Route 66.
The 200 foot tall bluffs visible in the Devils Elbow area were once described as being one of the "seven scenic wonders of Missouri" in literature from the Missouri Planning Commission. Rittenhouse described one of Pulaski County's segments as "one of the most beautiful sections of the Ozarks" in his Guide Book To Highway 66.
Following the road in Pulaski County you will visit cities whose heyday was years ago, as well as cities just finding their roots.
Housed in the original Munger-Moss Sandwich Shop this stop has been a travelers favorite for mouth watering barbecue since the late 1930's.
While in the Devils Elbow /Grandview area make sure to drive across the 1942 Big Piney River Bridge (an excellent example of a concrete open spandrel arch bridge) and stop at the Scenic Overlook to view the picturesque 1941 United States Army Railroad bridge in the Ozark valley below.